Practical Information
Jing'an District is well known for Jing'an Temple built in the year of 247. In 1862, Jing'an Temple Road (West Nanjing Road today), the first western-style road in Shanghai, was accomplished. In 1908, the first tramcar line of Shanghai was opened in Jing'an Temple Road, since when the legend of modern Shanghai has begun.

As the most purely delicate place in Shanghai, ancient Jing'an was exceedingly fascinating and charming. This cultural and artistic place, is environmentally beautiful, and peaceful, having attracted numerous business tycoons, cultural figures and film & TV celebrities to live here, where many romantic and historical stories has happened. Jing'an is simple and pure like its in old days, but also being deeply affected by western culture. Eastern lanes and alleys, and cultural western buildings together formed the special Shanghai Style: inclusive and open.

In November, 2015, the merger of Jing'an and Zhabei District became the new Jing'an District, adding more residential districts: West Tian Mu Road, North Station, Bao Shan Road, West Zhi Jiang Road, Gong He Xin Road; Da Ning Road, Peng Pu Village Road, Lin Fen Road and Peng Pu Town. The new Jing'an District is moving towards a new cultural road with its new mission.

Moller Villa

Architecture Style: Northern European style
Construction Year: 1936
Add: 30, South Shanxi Road

Moller Villa is a private garden villa built by the Allied Architects Shanghai in 1927, a famous architecture design institution of that time, and its owner the British Jew Moller came to Shanghai in 1919, and as a Taipan of Shanghai Race Club, he soon became rich for betting on horses. The construction lasted nine years, and was accomplished in 1936. The three-layer main structure in Scandinavian Norwegian Style just looked like a fairy castle. To avoid war, he left Shanghai in 1941, only to leave the irremovable fantasy castle. Moller Villa has gone through the discord times, and been frequently sold. Then in 1949, it became the work place of Communist Youth League Shanghai Municipal Party Committee. In 1989, it was listed in the first batch of Shanghai Modern Heritage Architectures and Municipality Protected Historic Site.

Ho Tung's Mansion

Architecture Style: The Renaissance Classicism
Construction Year: 1928
Add: No. 457, North Shanxi Road
The residence of British businessman Sir Ho Tung

The south elevation of the main building is made of Ionic order porches, which are styled as connected two layers with four slots. The scape is slender; the chapiter is engraved with delicate and soft scrolls; the foot is complex cambered lines, consistency with the above carvings. The second intercolumniation is an arc-shaped balcony with iron handrails. The flat roof, the surrounded parapet and arc-shaped balcony are all engraved with ancient marks. Three vertical sections; return walls in both sides; Jack arch stone and arch window. Below the dark cornice lies a piece of architrave decoration. The elevation is rough wall formed by cement mortar. The east gate of the building is the main entrance, with two huge brackets supporting the hall.

The garden is Chinese style. Water is flowing beneath a little bridge; several ancient woods standing between hill stones are very attractive. One old vine is nearly 100 years old, going through rough times but still vigorous and powerful; another two are a-century-old cinnamons, growing tall and straight, flourishing and blooming, which has added more charm to this ancient well-known garden. After 1949, Ho Tung family all moved back to Hong Kong. And the residence was taken over by Shanghai Real Estate Department.

Cosmopolitan Apartments

Architecture Style: Spanish
Construction Year: 1932—1934
Add: No. 173, North Shanxi Road

A lot of celebrities in literature and art circle were once lived here, such as the writer and dramatist Li Jianwu, film actor Kingsun, Zhang Ruifang and her husband.

It is a Spanish-castle style square building, square turrets in four corners. The top of it is polyhedral pinnacle; the entrance hall is a rain-cover. Lintels of windows and doors are all in Spanish style. The outer wall and ceiling are covered with glass bricks, to absorb the natural lights. Rooms in the apartment are mostly in suites, like two-room, three-room and four-room suites. Toilet wall and equipments are all made of exquisite tiles.

Rong's Old House (former residence of Rong Zongjing)

Architecture Style: Eclecticism
Construction Year: 1918
Add: 186, North Shanxi Road

Rong's Old House, a standalone western-style house with three layers and a garden, is the former residence of Rong Zongjing family. It is about 6.26mu; covered area is about 2182 square meters; garden area is 2475 square meters. The eclecticism house is in reinforced concrete structure, and designed by Chen Chunjiang. The whole architectural elevation is divided by horizontal lines, whose style is French Classicism. At the bottom, there are capacious porches and Ionian aisle columns. The western styles are widely used in construction technology, building structure and residential equipment, while Chinese traditional convention and appetite is outstandingly kept in plane layout, inside and outside decoration and garden greening.

For the reproduction of offspring and the development of family business, the old house has been empty for quite a long year. After Shanghai's liberation, Rong Xiaofan, the commissioned house agent of Rong's family, rent it to Chinese Economic Research Institution. Now, it is a Culture Relic Protection Site of Jing'an and Heritage Architecture.

Song's Old House

Architecture Style: British Country Villa
Construction Year: 1908
Add: No. 369, North Shanxi Road

The architecture is structured with wood and brisk; the whole space is flexible, while the architectural form is free. Even span and hip roof are flexibly assembled and well arranged. The east part is arch inner chamber, using valve to open it; the west is an extended huge sitting room. There is a small room on the left of the second floor, while the bedroom is facing the stairs. Two bedrooms towards the south are both built with big balconies.

The famous Song's family has been called the first family of China, and has an undoubtedly important position in modern and contemporary Chinese history. It is not only the place for Song's brothers and sisters gathering with their mum, but also a significant venue for social. Soong Ching-ling has lived here for nearly ten years before getting married. After the liberation of Shanghai, Soong Ching-ling established China Welfare Institute Nursery here. Then, it became the temporary office for the China Welfare Institute.

Ohel Rachel Synagogue

Architecture Style: Neo-classicism
Construction Year: 1920
Add: No. 500, North Shanxi Road
Ohel Rachel Synagogue is Jewish church. The brick-concrete structure building covers 609 square meters. The elevation is divided into three sections. The main entrance is a pair of ionic columns and a pair of square pilasters. Within the stoep there are three arch doors. Interior space is apex of arch; two sides are double-deck colonnades; intercolumnar small vaults and auditorium ones are vertical and intersectant in a Greek Temple Style. Synagogue hall is the Temple of God; the semiellipse hathpace in the center is built by white marble, and it is where Jews do the worship. The upper end of the back wall of Temple of God is divided into cubicles. The top of the Hall is like a dome with five arc-shaped beams to support the ceiling. There are five windows as a group. The dome of the church in the second floor is made of white marble. On the third floor there is a peaceful room, which used to be the living room for clergy.

Ningpo (Si Ming) Village

Architecture Style: New Shikumen Lanes
Construction Year: 1928 –1932
Add: 913, Middle Yan'an Road

Ningpo Village was name after Ningpo Bank, and used to be the dorms for bank staff and cultural celebrities, such as Hsu Chih-mo, Lu Xiaoman and film actress Hu Die. The famous Indian writer Tagore was once live here on March 29th, 1929.

Ningpo Village has been invested and built respectively in 1912 and 1928. And the designer is Huang Yuanji from Kaitai Architecture Firm, and the construction has been completely accomplished in 1932. It covers the area of 1.9 hectare and about 29150 square meters. Along the Ju Lu Road towards the south lane, there is a single-family house with the number 118, which used to be the private villa for the president of Ningpo Bank.

There are 118 brick-wood-structured conjoined buildings in Ningpo Village (in western architecture, they're called terraced houses, or nowadays, they look like town houses) and all these buildings are new Shikumen lanes. Each building has a dark-colored door with copper ring, and the red brick wall is dry pointed. In the front of the living room on first floor lies a courtyard, and behind in is a kitchen; the front part of upstairs are bedrooms and modern toilets. The penthouses used to be three floors; the bottom was the kitchen and above there were two garrets, and above which is a flat roof for drying. “Our house is a double-bay, so the first and second floor are designed with wing-rooms both in the front and back, as well as the garrets. The width of alley is about 5 or 6 meters, and the secondary lane is about 4 or 5 meters, so it's convenient for cars to turn around. Nearly half houses are equipped with garages.” As is saying, Ningpo Village has already reflected its prototype of western civilization life fifty or sixty years ago.

Hsu Chih-mo's Residence

Add: No. 913 Siming Village, Middle Yan'an Road (the original loctaion is removed, and a sign is marked at the entrance of the lane)

The former residence is a modern three-floor lanes and alley, Shikumen structure in ancient Shanghai Bund style. On March 29th, 1929, Tagore was once lived here when coming to Shanghai. In the middle of the downstair, there is the living room. The bridal room is in front of the wing-room upstairs. The back room is Lu's smoking area. The third floor is Hsu's study room. Their most well-known book Letters to Dear May (Ai Mei Xiao Zha), Xiaoman's Dirary (Xiaoman Ri Ji) and etc..

Liu Jisheng's Residence (Venus Garden)

Architecture Style: Classicism Revival
Construction Year: 1931
Add: No. 675—681, Ju Lu Road

This building is a gift from Liu Jisheng for his wife in her 40 years birthday. It is designed by Hudec in Jan. 1927 and constructed in 1931, with the covering area of 1606 square meters and building area of 1666 square meters. The fake four-floor building is in brick-concrete structure and constructed by Fu Ji Building Company. This villa imitates European Classical Greek Architectures, magnificent and extraordinary. For it is built according to the story of Cupid and Psyche, it is also called Venus Garden. The house elevation is symmetrical; one centre room and two wing-rooms; the south elevation is the entrance, with notch Ionic porch. Arc-balcony is between the columns on the south of the second floor, with iron-decorated handrails, light and graceful. Walls are almost built with simple bricks, except the porch; part of the walls upstairs are decorated with whiting. The space under eaves is designed with tooth-form decorations, and the window decorations are in multiple style. Interior decoration is extravagant with giant columns, arc-stairs, colorful hall glasses, large-scale crystal lamps and etc.. The supporting facility is well-equipped, like boiler room and central heating systems. In front of the house is a fountain, in axle wire of the Garden. At the center of the fountain stands a Psyche's statue, which was invested by Hudec for express appreciation for the design opportunity.

Jing Hua New Village

Architecture Style: New-style Lanes
Construction Year: 1938
Add: No. 820, Ju Lu Road

In 1937, land agent Zhou Xiangyun lined out the south part of his garden to make a house. Its name “Jing Hua” was originated from the garden's magnificent scenery. It was constructed by Brandt Rogers Architecture Design Company in1938. There are 69 composite-structure buildings with three layers and a gate house, covering 0.8 hectare and with an overall floorage of 15682 square meters. The south beside New Village is Ju Lu Road, where north is Yan'an Hotel. There are other residences and villas in the east and west of Jing Hua. On the memorial archway of the entrance, there are four Chinese characters “Jing Hua Xin Cun”, which is said to be handwritings of the Chinese painting master Zhu Qizhan(1892--1996), who moved into the village in 1959 and has created many great works here.

Hardoon Garden

Architecture Style: Traditional Chinese
Construction Year: 1899
Add: West Nanjing Road

In year of 1899, Silas Hardoon bought 300 mu lands range from Jing'an Temple (West Nanjing Road today) to Chang Bang (West Yan'an Road today), and one luxury garden has been built in five years, with overall Chinese style and part of Western style. It was named Ai Li Yuan or Hardoon Garden. There used to be full of hillstones and pools, boats and pavilions, exotic flowers and rare herbs. 26 scenic spots are about 20 hectares, and collectively looked like a wonderland. Apart from the pavilions and boats, there was also a CangSheng MingZhi College (admiring the saints and becoming smart). Scholars, like Wang Guowei, Kang Youwei and Luo Zhenyu, were all invited here to have lectures. Also, Sun Yat-sen was lived here for a short time; Cai E was recuperating; Zhang Taiyan has hold a wedding here; many influential figures in the times of the Republic of China have visited here, such as Cai Yuanpei, Zhang Shizhao, Xu Beihong and etc.. After liberation in 1949, the Russian Sino-Soviet Friendship Building was built based on the remains of Hardoon Garden. Now, it is Shanghai Exhibition Center.

Mansion of Guo Le and Guo Shun

Architecture Style: French Renaissance
Construction Year: 1926
Add: No. 1400, 1418, West Nanjing Road

Two symmetrical villas in West Nanjing Road are NO. 1400 and No. 1418. They used to be the residence of Guo Le and Guo Shun, the founders of Shanghao Wingon Group. Now it is the work place of Foreign Affairs Office of Shanghai Municipality People‘s Government, Shanghai People's Association of Friendship with Foreign Countries and Hong Kong & Macau Affairs Office of the Shanghai Municipality People ‘s Government.

The mansions were built in 1926 by Tao Guiji Construction Factory, covering the area of 4383 square meters, building area of 3214 square meters and green land area of 2500 square meters. The main building are two residences in composite structure with gardens, five bays;the three-layer buildings, facing towards the south, are in French style of European Renaissance Period. Two buildings are almost the same. The elevation of the building is symmetrical; the middle is layered with colonnades; the ground is Tuscan order; second floor is Ionic; third floor is Corinthian. Detailed decorations, like Balcony, window, cornice, and angle, are quite meticulous.

观众指南
静安区因建于公元247年的静安古寺而得名。1862年,静安寺路(今南京西路)在静安区内修筑完成,这是上海第一条西式大马路;1908年,静安寺路开通上海第一辆有轨电车,从此开启近代上海的海派传奇。

作为上海记忆中最纯粹精致的地方,“老静安”流淌着上海滩的万种风情。这里集文化与格调于一身,居住环境优美、幽静高雅,吸引无数富贾大商、文化名流、影视名媛栖身于此,无数风花雪夜和历史沧桑的故事诞生在这个五光十色的地方。这里既带有老上海的淳朴风情,又深受西方文化浸染,西式里弄与文化洋楼汇聚交融,造就了静安兼容并蓄的独有海派风格。

2015年11月,静安与闸北合并为新静安区,增入天目西路街道、北站街道、宝山路街道、芷江西路街道、共和新路街道、大宁路街道、彭浦新村街道、临汾路街道、彭浦镇。合并后的新静安,载上新的使命,迈向新的文化之旅。

马勒别墅

建筑风格:北欧式
建造年代:1936年
地址:陕西南路30号

1927年由英籍犹太人马勒(1919年来上海后靠赌马成为富商,时任上海跑马厅大班)委托当时著名的华盖建筑事务所设计建造的私人花园别墅,历时9年,于1936年竣工。主建筑为三层斯堪的那维亚式挪威风格建筑,宛如童话世界里的城堡。1941年,为躲避战乱,马勒离开了中国,留下了这栋无法带走的“梦幻城堡”。马勒住宅多历战乱,几经转手,1949年后成为共青团上海团市委办公场所。1989年,马勒住宅被列为上海市第一批优秀近代建筑、市级文物保护单位。

何东公馆

建筑风格:英国文艺复兴时代古典主义
建筑年代:建于1928年
地址:陕西北路457号

英籍商人何东爵士的住宅。

主建筑住宅南立面,设置贯通两层带四槽的爱奥尼克柱式门廊,柱身修长,柱头有精巧柔和的涡卷,柱脚有多种复合曲面的线条,串着上端的雕饰。二层柱间为弧形阳台、铸铁花式栏杆。平屋顶,四周围女儿墙,环形栏杆上饰雕刻望往。纵三段,两侧有转角墙,有平拱、石拱窗循。南立面底层有敞廊。深挑檐,檐下有块形线脚装饰。立面用水泥砂浆作糙面墙面。宅内东门为建筑的主人曰,有两对巨大的牛腿支撑着门厅。

花园是中式的,小桥流水,曲径山石之间,几棵古木老树尤为引人注目。一棵是近百年的古藤,历经沧桑仍婉蜒遒劲;另两棵是百年香樟,粗壮挺拔,浓荫蔽天,为这座古园名宅增添几分雅意。1949年后,何东家族举家迁回香港,何东住宅由上海房地产部门接收。

华业公寓

建筑风格:西班牙式
建筑年代:1932年~1934年
地址:陕西北路173号

作家、戏剧家李健吾,电影演员金山、张瑞芳夫妇等文艺界知名人士曾在此居住过。

楼是典型的西班牙城堡式样,是正方形,四角有方形角楼。顶部是多面的锥状,尖顶。入口处有挑出雨篷的门厅。门楣、窗楣的装修是鲜明的西班牙风格。外墙与天棚均镶砌玻璃砖,以利天然采光。公寓房间的平面多采用套间式布置,户型有2室、3室和4室户等类型。浴厕设备和墙面均用瓷砖等装修,工料较精致。

荣氏老宅(荣氏老宅,荣宗敬故居)

建筑风格:折衷主义
建筑年代:1918年
地址:陕西北路186号

这是一座带花园的独立式三层西式住宅,系荣氏早期沪寓所在,人称荣氏老宅。该产业基地面积6.26亩,建筑面积2182平方米,花园面积2475平方米。荣氏老宅建筑为折衷主义风格,钢筋混凝土结构,由陈椿江设计。建筑立面整体以水平线条划分,具有法国古典主义风格。底层有宽敞的门廊和高大的爱奥尼式廊柱。在建筑技术、房屋结构及住宅设备上较多地汲取了西式风格,而在平面布置、内外装修、庭院绿化方面则更过地保留这中国传统的习俗及爱好。

荣氏家族由于子孙繁衍和所经营事业的发展,先后离开老宅而另置住房安家,老宅房屋空关数年。上海解放后,由受托管理该产业的代理人荣孝范代表荣家出租与中国经济研究所使用。现在是静安区文物保护单位,优秀历史建筑。

宋家老宅

建筑风格:英国乡村别墅式
建造年代:1908年
地址:陕西北路369号

建筑是砖木结构,空间组织灵活,建筑形式自由,两坡顶与四坡顶灵活组合,错落有致。东边有一拱形内室,中间有活门开启;西边是一个后扩建的大客厅。二楼左边有间小房,正对楼梯处的房间卧室,二楼的两间朝南房间拥有大阳台。

著名的宋氏家族被称为中国的第一家族,在中国近现代史上的地位毋容置疑。这幢宋家老宅不仅是当年宋家兄弟姐妹与母亲聚会的地方,也是宋家对外社交的重要场所。宋美龄婚前在此居住生活了近十年。上海解放后,宋美龄在此开办了中国福利基金会托儿所。尔后,成为中福会临时办公地。

西摩会堂

建筑风格:新古典主义建筑风格
建筑年代:1920年
地址:陕西北路500号

西摩会堂是犹太人教堂。3层砖混结构,占地面积609平方米。立面分3段划分,主入口以贯通两层的一对爱奥尼式柱和一对方形壁柱形成门廊,门廊内为3个拱券门。室内空间为拱顶,两侧为双层柱廊,柱间的小拱顶与讲堂拱顶垂直相交,具有希腊神殿式的建筑造型。其中教堂大厅是圣殿,中央的半椭圆状高台用汉白玉筑成,台上供教徒进行宗教礼拜活动。圣殿后贴墙上端用汉白玉分隔成若干小间。大厅顶部呈穹隆状,塑有5根弧形横梁,支撑着大厅的天花板,其窗户都是5扇成组。教堂2楼穹顶是用汉白玉镶砌而成。3楼为一恬静小筑,是昔日西摩路会堂犹太人社区神职人员的起居室。

四明村

建筑风格:新式石库门里弄
建筑年代:1928~1832年
地址:延安中路913弄

四明村原为四明银行宿舍,以其名字命名,建成后早期租赁给银行职员和文化界人士,徐志摩、陆小曼夫妇,电影演员胡蝶等都曾经居住在这里。印度著名作家泰戈尔1929年3月29日也曾住在这里。

四明村系四明银行于1912年与1928年两次投资兴建,由凯泰建筑事务所黄元吉设计,于1932年建成。四明村占地1.9公顷,总面积为29150平方米。南面弄口沿巨鹿路有一幢独院住宅,为118号,最初是四明银行董事长的私人别墅。

四明村共有砖木结构联体房屋118幢,(西方建筑称为terraced houses,或当今的town houses)属新式石库门里弄住宅。每幢都有带铜环的乌漆大门,红砖墙清水勾缝。一楼客堂前为天井,后为厨房;楼上前部为卧室,另有有现代设备的卫生间。后披屋为叁层,底层作灶间,上有二楼亭子间和叁楼亭子间,亭子间上面设晒台。我家是双开间,所以一楼二楼都有前后厢房,以及双亭子间。 总弄堂宽有5-6米,支弄也有4-5米,便于汽车进出调头。有汽车间的房子约占二分之一。可见五六十年前四明村已初具西方文明生活之雏形。

徐志摩故居

地址:延安中路四明村913弄。(原址已拆迁,目前在这一弄堂口挂牌。)

原址是一幢三层楼的新式里弄,是上海滩老式石库门洋房。

1929年3月29日,泰戈尔再次来到上海,曾住在那里。楼下当中为客堂间,陈设简单。新房设在二楼厢房前间。后小间作陆小曼的吸烟室。三楼是志摩的书斋。徐志摩和陆小曼两人正是在此诞生了鼎鼎大名的《爱眉小札》、《媚轩琐记》和《小曼日记》等篇。

刘吉生住宅(爱神花园)

建筑风格:古典复兴
建筑年代:建于1931年
地址:巨鹿路675-681号

此宅是刘吉生献给青梅竹马的爱妻的40周岁生日礼物。1927年1月由邬达克设计,1931年建造。占地面积1606平方米,建筑面积1666平方米,假四层,砖混结构,馥记营造厂承建。混合结构。该花园住宅仿欧洲古典希腊式建筑,造型宏伟庄重,气派非凡。因是按希腊神话中爱神丘比特和普绪赫的故事所设计,又被称作“爱神花园”。住宅立面对称,一正两厢划为三段,南侧立面设主入口,有贯通两层带凹槽的爱奥尼柱式门廊。南面二层柱间为弧形阳台,铸铁花饰栏杆轻盈雅致。除门廊外均以清水砖砌筑墙面,楼上局部用白粉饰面。檐下有齿形带饰,窗饰也有多种样式。室内装修极尽奢华,有巨型圆柱、弧形楼梯、大厅镶彩色玻璃、悬大型水晶灯等。配套设施也很完备,置有锅炉房,中央供热系统供应暖气和热水。宅前有一喷泉,位于庭院中轴线上,喷泉中央立着白色大理石制成的普绪赫雕像。雕像是邬达克出资,在意大利订做送给刘家的,以答谢刘家给予的设计良机。

景华新村

建筑风格:新式里弄
建筑年代:1938年
地址:巨鹿路820号

1937年,上海地产商周湘云在自己的周家花园里划出南面一部分建造住宅,因花园风景华丽而取名景华新村。由勃兰特罗杰斯建筑设计公司设计,1938年建造,有混合结构3层楼房69幢及门房1间,基地面积0.80公顷,总建筑面积15682平方米。新村南临巨鹿路,北傍延安饭店,东、西与其他新里住宅和花园住宅毗邻。新村弄堂口的牌坊上有刻“景华新村”四个字,据说这是中国国画大师朱屺瞻的手迹。艺术家朱屺瞻(1892-1996)于1959年迁入景华新村12号居住,在此创作不少优秀作品。

哈同花园

建筑风格:中式传统建筑
建筑年代:1899年
地址:南京西路

1899年,哈同买下静安寺(今南京西路)和长浜(今延安西路)之间的三百亩地,前后用了五年时间,建造了一座中式为主、西式为辅的豪华园林,取名“爱俪园”,即哈同花园。这里曾经拥有山石池水,舸舫亭阁、奇花异草,方圆20公顷,26个景点,处处胜似仙境。除了亭台楼阁,哈同还在其中设立一所仓圣明智大学,请到王国维、康有为、罗振玉等学者前来讲课。另外,孙中山曾在爱俪园小住,蔡锷在此养病,章太炎在此举办婚礼,蔡元培、章士钊、徐悲鸿等各路民国风云人物都曾到访过这里。解放后,在这片花园的残基上建起了俄罗斯风格的中苏友好大厦,现为上海展览中心。

郭乐、郭顺寓所

建筑风格:法国文艺复兴式
建筑年代:1926年
地址:南京西路1400、1418号

南京西路1400、1418号两座对称的花园住宅,原是上海永安集团的创始人郭乐、郭顺兄弟俩在沪的寓所。现为上海市人民政府外事办公室和对外友好协会、港澳事务办公室的办公地。

郭宅建于1926年,由当时上海著名的陶桂记营造厂承建施工。占地面积4384平方米,房屋建筑面积3214平方米,绿地面积2500平方米。主建筑为两幢带花园、朝南向、五开间、三层混合结构的住宅,仿欧洲文艺复兴时期法国式建筑风格。东西两楼风格一致。立面对称,中部层叠柱廊,底层塔司干式柱,二层爱奥尼式柱,三层科林斯式柱;阳台、窗口、檐口、勒角等细部装饰细致。